Biblical Holidays

May 1, 2008 at 9:15 am (Growing in Faith)

Since we were moving the day before easter, we decided to delay our celebration by two weeks.  As we neared our postponed date of celebration, I started researching the history behind easter eggs and bunnies and the like, wanting to be ready for the questions that the boys (who had never dyed an egg in their lives) would surely have.

 

I was blown away.

 

As a reforming Christian, I am always on the look out for ways the world has crept into my life and the life of my family.  Then, of course, I have to ask, ‘how was this decided?’, ‘who was involved?’ perhaps, ‘why?’ and then bring up the rear with, ‘is this biblical?’  What I learned about easter had me asking, ‘What in the world are we thinking?’

 

For a long time I have had an interest in the biblical holidays, but my easter discoveries pushed me over the edge.  After taking my preliminary findings to Mr. Perfect I asked if we had to do eggs and easter.  Being Mr. Perfect he said no and encouraged me to keep researching.  There is a plethora of information on the web, of course, which was very helpful.  But the best was a wonderful book, A Family Guide to the Biblical Holidays by Robin Sampson and Linda Pierce.

 

(I made the mistake of NOT wanting to wait for Amazon to deliver it, so I called the local Christian book store.  They said it would be in within two days so I asked them to hold one for me.  Wrong.  A week later they called.  I went to pick it up and paid $20 over Amazon prices for it.  Just get it from Amazon!)

 

Anyway, it is very eye-opening.  There is amazing history to learn and much to think about.  We weren’t able to pull things together in time for seriously celebrating Passover or the Feast of Unleavened Bread, but we did have time to experiment with unleavened bread recipes and talk to the children about what we were learning.  Thankfully, the girls aren’t disappointed about ‘losing easter’, but are excited about celebrating the holidays that have been biblically laid out for us.

 

While I don’t know where this road is going to take us, I do know that I am excited to be cleaning more of the world out of my life, and the lives of my family.  I’m not sure if the first stop will be formalizing Sabbath or Pentecost, we’ll have to see what Mr. Perfect says!

Leave a Reply

