Catching Up – June

July 10, 2008 at 4:57 pm (Uncategorized)

10th Anniversary

 

May 30th was the big day.  To celebrate, Mr Perfect and I went to Seattle for 4 days.  Since our family needs are a little – special – at the moment (big dog, little dog, 2 girls that know enough about managing the house to be dangerous, and 2 boys that barely speak English and have joined our family with their own baggage) the only person I could think of to help was my mother.  I threw the thought out there and wouldn’t you know she agreed!  She drove down from Colorado with time to spend getting to know the new house and the latest and greatest with the boys.  Mr Perfect and I took off and had a lovely time.  I did develop a sinus infection, but Dr Wonderful phoned a prescription up to Seattle for me and I was on the mend with in 18 hours.

 
I took this photo with Mr Perfect’s big boy camera all by myself.
It was freezing, 50 something degrees, and we loved it!
Waterfall

Waterfall

Coming from the desert where everything is brown or brown, the colors we saw were intoxicating.

Flowers and Bees

Flowers and Bees

 
We watched fish mongers fling fish here . . .
 
Pike's Fish Market

Pike's Fish Market

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Some dear friends treated us to coffee at the original Starbucks with a gift card!  (I have tried and tried, but I don’t know why this is formatting so weird – sorry!)
The Original Starbucks

The Original Starbucks

 
During a cruise the guide pointed out several things, including this home that was used in Sleepless in Seattle.  Cute!
Sleepless in Seattle

Sleepless in Seattle

 

Home Study Update

 Since the boys have been home for 6+ months and we were getting ready to re-adopt them here in the state, it was time for a post-placement home study.  The case worker showed up the day after we returned from Seattle, asked a few questions, and sat amazed at our well behaved, adjusting little boys.  30 minutes later he was out the door.  Yeah, love those short visits!

 

Doctoring Part I

 

As it turned out, the stuff that Dr A. Wonderful phoned to Seattle for me didn’t pack enough punch, so he put me on something stronger.  Within a few days I was having all sorts of intestinal fun, was very dizzy, and basically felt like – well – you know!  He said I could stop taking the antibiotic and to give it a few days for the side effects to get out of my system.  Whew!

 

Daisies and Dogs

 

Every few years Daisy’s dad’s family takes a house boat up to Lake Powell, and this was the year.  While she was off having a lovely time, we got to take care of their dog, a beautiful German shepherd, who fit right into our family.  On the last day of her visit, some friends of ours took a trip to San Francisco, leaving us with their big black lab and a lab mix.  They are also well behaved and fun to have around, but I must admit that now that they are all back home, it’s delightfully less . . . hairy around here.

 

Doctoring Part II

 

After waking up in the middle of the night crying for Mr Perfect to dig up some pain-killers, I went in to see Dr A Wonderful to ask him to figure out what was wrong with my neck.  I was also still dizzy/heady and told him I still was not convinced that the sinus infection was completely gone.  He turned me over to his chiropractor brother, Dr R Wonderful, and told me to find an ENT to attack the elusive sinus issues.

 

Up Next – July!

Leave a Reply

